Love Never Dies review

11Mar10

Last week, I went to see ‘Love Never Dies’ – Andrew Lloyd Webber’s sequel to ‘Phantom of the Opera’. It has only been running for a few weeks, and has a lot to live up to. So the question is, was it any good?

Well, I’m pleased to report that I absolutely loved it. Admittedly, I had rushed to buy tickets to ensure we saw Ramin Karimloo in the role of the Phantom, who has quite simply got a voice to make a woman’s heart melt. My sister and I saw him originally as the Phantom a few months before, and were blown away. Luckily, the soundtrack (released yesterday, buy it!) is sung by Ramin, so his Phantom is immortalised forever.

If you’ve ever seen the original Phantom of the Opera, you’ll remember it for its magnificent scenery and staging. Love Never Dies is similarly impressive, although not quite as grand in the second half. The opening scene used perspective magnificently to give the effect of a promenade stretching far off into the distance to incredible effect.

The music itself was an interesting mix, and far less operatic than the original. This makes the show far more accessible, as while opera can be fantastic, it’s not to everyone’s taste. Some incredibly dramatic numbers with circus performers on the stage made for excellent viewing, while some quieter, more lyrically important songs helped to connect the story. There is little room for ambiguity, as the story is simplicity itself. But this is no bad thing, as I remember my partner nudging me multiple times through the original Phantom to ask what was happening, as he couldn’t hear the words to the operatic numbers. There are some very catchy songs, my favourite being “Devil take the hindmost”, as Raoul and the Phantom make a bet as to who can win Christine’s heart once and for all. “Til I hear you sing” is another moving number from the Phantom, desperate to have Christine back in his life.

The supporting members of the cast were all brilliant, as I have come to expect from West End performances. Strong singers, actors and dancers, they never detracted the attention from our main characters but still gave a compelling performance. Ramin Karimloo in the role of the Phantom, if I hadn’t already mentioned, was flawless. Sierra Boggess in the role of Christine was superb and sang the role with conviction, while looking dazzling on stage. I’d also like to make special mention of Joseph Millson who played Raoul, who was both handsome and a beautiful singer.

In summary, don’t go to see this if you’re looking for the Phantom of the Opera, as you will be disappointed. But go with an open mind and I think you will love it – I will personally give it 4 out of 5 stars. I think I stop short of giving it full marks simply because the original Phantom of the Opera I saw a few months back truly was a 5 out of 5 performance. If you get the chance to see Love Never Dies – make sure you do!

One Response to “Love Never Dies review”

  1. 1 Trigophant

    This is a really well written review!


Leave a Reply

