Best banana bread…ever

03May10

Although we’d already reached our weekend baking quota, Keith rescued some sorry-looking bananas from our housemate in order to bake some tasty banana bread.

Personally, I’ve never been a fan of the stuff. Keith convinced me to help him cook up a batch with the help of this thoroughly naughty banana bread recipe from Nigella Lawson. This version contained juicy sultanas soaked in bourbon (my boyfriend’s liquor of choice), pieces of chopped walnuts for a bit of a bite and a pack of chocolate chips for an extra bit of sweetness.

It was fairly easy to cook and produced a nice big loaf. It burned a little round the edges as our oven is highly unreliable, but we simply snipped those edges off. And here’s the end result:

I’m not sure it’s the tastiest looking cake in the world – but it filled the house with a wonderful smell and tasted absolutely delicious. As a non-banana lover, even I couldn’t get enough of it! My family seemed to enjoy it too, so this recipe will definitely be a permanent addition to my repertoire.

2 Responses to “Best banana bread…ever”

  1. 1 rebecca

    yum yum! seriously – I was going to cook banana cake tonight, as I have two spotty bananas in my fruit bowl. Last time I did this, I added a grated apple too, which was nice and created extra moistness. I am soooo going to steal your idea of alcohol-soaked sultanas though: I don’t have bourbon, but I think an orange liqueur might work well…. slaver slaver!

  2. Well I can’t claim the idea as my own – it was Nigella’s really! The recipe got us to put the sultanas in the alcohol, bring it to the boil, then take it off the heat, cover and leave for an hour to soak. So make sure you leave enough time to do all the work, cos cooking takes over an hour too! We literally took the cake hot from the oven to mum’s house because we only finished it at the last minute!


Leave a Reply

